JULY 26, RAIN OR SHINE. TICKETS $20.00
In observance of Blue Hill’s 250th anniversary, the Jonathan Fisher House and the Blue Hill Historical Society jointly sponsor a house tour featuring 8 private homes and 2 historic houses . Tickets can be purchased in advance at Fairwinds Florist: 5 Main Street and The Meadow of Blue Hill: 140 Main Street, and can also be purchased at Holt House and Jonathan Fisher House on July 26th. All proceeds support the two local museums. For more info: email@example.com or call 207-374-2459.
In addition to the houses listed below, the historic Holt and Fisher Houses will both be open all day for the tour. We hope you will join us.
THIS YEAR’S OPEN HOUSES:
1. PARKER HOUSE
This landmark Federal style house was built in either 1812 or 1816 by Robert Parker, whose wife was a daughter of Joseph Wood, one of the founders of Blue Hill. In 1900, it was renovated in the Colonial Revival style as a summer home for the Frederic A. Merrills by George A. Clough, official city architect of Boston. Mrs. Merrill was descended from Mrs. Parker’s sister, and family antiques give the house an ancestral air. The current owner, the Merrill’s great-grandson, has undertaken a restoration of the house which pays homage to its Colonial Revival past.
2. CARROLL RESIDENCE
This classic shingled summer cottage with spacious porches overlooking the cove was built in 1907 by Theodore Nevin, editor of The Pittsburgh Leader. With its broad porches overlooking the bay, the cottage might appear to never have been disturbed, but in fact, in the 1970’s, the second floor was removed. After purchasing the property in 2002, the current owner carefully restored the second floor to its original exterior appearance, and installed a new double height hall and staircase to his own design.
3. GRUESOME GABLES
Known around Parker Point as ‘Uncle George’, Mr. Cochran’s amiably drunken ghost is said to still haunt the house. The interiors, with massive granite fireplaces, and one of the largest dining tables in town, retain many of their original features.
4. CUTHBERT RESIDENCE
This house is believed to have been built by local entrepreneur Eben Garland around 1840. It is a classic two chimney cape, charmingly typical of the tidy houses built by the talented carpenter-architects who practiced in that era.
5. SCULPIN POINT
Perfectly sited on ledges at the entrance to the Harbor, this New England style house was built for Mr. & Mrs. Henry Becton, Sr. in 1948. Their versatile architect, Cecil I. Wylde of Boston, was also an Olympic Gold Medalist. Sweeping views of the Harbor and Blue Hill Bay are enjoyed from every room. The lovely gardens were designed by Mrs. Becton.
6. ELWIN COVE
‘Elwin Cove’ was built for inventor Edward Brooks, president of the E.J. Brooks Manufacturing Company in 1908. It is a very interesting house, distinguished by its bold roofline, encircling verandas and overhanging second floor. Inside, the living and dining rooms share a fireplace, and soar through to roof level.
7. SPRING COVE
This classic clapboard house was originally a simple Greek Revival farmhouse, built by Henry York. It was converted to summer use in the early 1900’s, and was added to many times. In the 1970’s, a renovation for the current owners by Krumbaar and Holt brought the house to its present appearance.
8. BLUEBERRY HILL
Set at the end of a long drive, with views to Mt. Desert, this rambling New England style house was designed for Mr. & Mrs. Frederic E. Camp in 1932 and 1938. Their designer was Rolf Bauhan, a distinguished Princeton, New Jersey architect who also designed the shorefront playhouse, which was featured in Architectural Forum in 1937. The current owner’s decoration enhances the fine interiors, including a dining room copied from the Apollo Room at Williamsburg.